Our fruit bearing “indian” mango tree

Once upon a time, many  summers ago, we had a beautiful indian mango tree beside our house. The tree has special meaning to us because it bore so much fruit. At one point in our lowly life, somehow, the excess fruits we sold had made a dent, though very  tiny, in the  otherwise heavy load that my father carried.

During summer breaks   my first job in the morning was  to gather the dried leaves that fell down on the ground. The tree was just so big that it almost covered half of the roof of the house and a large portion of the ground. I liked it. After a semester of learning and assignments, sweeping dried leaves was a relief. Once I gathered the leaves, I burned  them right under the tree so as to suffocate the many insects that attacked  the fruits. (Didn’t know then the carbon monoxide poisoning theory). By the way, the fruit was  so sweet, juicy, rounded in size and big.

In doing this, the tree produced more fruits and less damaged from several insects. The shade of the indian mango tree was also the venue of so many summers of guitar singing lessons and teenager talks. Oh I miss those life.

I was just amazed how that tree produced fruits year after year after year. Well, the tree was just inherited from the previous owner. My estimate the tree could have been more than 30 years old. In How to Make Fruit  Trees Produce (http://www.ehow.com/how_5786238_make-fruit-trees-produce.html) here are some of  the reasons why they don’t.

1. Incorrect fertilization

 2.  Improper pruning

 3.  Poor Pollination

 4.  Frost Damaged

Our indian mango tree did  not need fertilization, nor pruning. How can you prune a very tall tree as high as the street light in front of the house? I was not sure of the pollination, the branches were just so high. Frost damaged? No.

It was just nature. God gift to those who happened to live with it. But wait! I also remember that the trunk at the bottom, my father constructed a  bench around  it. It was made  of a hollow blocks of cement, put on top of the other, maybe as high as two feet with a few feet distance from the base and it was a good venue for everything. If you defied  mother, you sat there in the dark waiting for father’s arrival. Our father is always our shield to everything, including mother’s anger. I have the feeling that  the tree could have  heard us. It could have heard  mother’s plea to my father that there was no food for the next meal and so on. Maybe, that was the reason, it bore so much fruit for us.

That indian mango tree was an inspiration to all of us. My sister Cecil, second to the youngest, was one of the recipient of all the  hardships we had to carry then. She is the 7th in the brood of 8.  I remember, I just graduated from College then, pushed by my father to find work immediately. Cecil complained to my mother that her feet had blisters because the soles  of her only shoes were all torn out.

Cecil turned out to be the  finest among  us. God willing, she will join me here in the US to work in Washington DC  before the year ends.

BUT GOD CREATED MAN DIFFERENT FROM A MANGO TREE. IN THE BEGINNING, GOD CREATED MAN WITH HIS OWN HANDS  WHILE GOD COMMANDED THE EARTH TO PRODUCE A MANGO TREE.

Genesis:

King James Version (KJV)

 10And God called the dry land Earth; and the gathering together of the waters called he Seas: and God saw that it was good.

11And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, and the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth: and it was so.

12And the earth brought forth grass, and herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind: and God saw that it was good.

AND GOD CREATED MAN WITH  HIS OWN HANDS IN HIS OWN IMAGE

26And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.

27So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.

28And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth.

MAN IS SO FAR DIFFERENT FROM A MANGO TREE

For a man to bear fruit, he should have Christ in him. For  Christ will write the commandments in his heart and soul. He  will know if he has  Christ’s commandments in his heart and soul for it manifests in him. Loaded with so much fruits of the spirits, he will  rise and shine above everyone.

Galatians 5:22-23

King James Version (KJV)

 22But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,

23Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

HOW DO I MAKE CHRIST LIVE WITH ME? HOW DO I WIN CHRIST?  SAINT PAUL GIVES HIS ADVICE:

Philippians 3:8

King James Version (KJV)

 8Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

My prayer every night, is I don’t lose Christ in me. I may not be very fruitful as a Christian,  but I always try my  best to be,  and I am asking God to please  help me WIN CHRIST IN ME. http://www.mcgi.org/en/

THANKS BE TO GOD FOR THE DEEP KNOWLEDGE.

WE ARE THE-MEMBERS CHURCH OF GOD INTERNATIONAL WITH BROTHER ELISEO SORIANO AS THE PRESIDING MINISTER AND BROTHER DANIEL RAZON AS THE VICE PRESIDING MINISTER. http://www.mcgi.org/en/

Leave a Reply

