The Falling Man

I posted this photo, (borrowed one) in my Facebook account with a caption ” At the last moment of your life, not of your own choice, you accepted and embraced death gracefully and I salute you.” A simple line yet sparked a question to some of my beloved brethren.

In the journalism world, the pen is well respected. A pen can change the fate of a man or  of a country for that matter. I was not  trained  as a journalist but to count and to account and  I realized I love the former more.

In The Members –  Church of God International with Brother Eliseo Soriano as the Presiding Minister and Brother Daniel Razon as the Vice Presiding Minister, suicide is not allowed, the basis of which is the bible. When Judas Iscariot transgressed against Jesus, he could not face the shame, and he committed suicide.

Acts 1:18

King James Version (KJV)

18Now this man purchased a field with the reward of iniquity; and falling headlong, he burst asunder in the midst, and all his bowels gushed out.

I believed that his commission of suicide was  the reason he was not forgiven by God more than his being a traitor.

The “falling man” was   one of many  who jumped to their  deaths  in the course of the 9/11 attack on the Twin Towers in New York.

I have a big question in my heart right now, if  jumping from the building  instead of suffocating in the cloud of smoke was an  act suicide. Deep in my heart I did not think it was. It was a spur of the moment decision, maybe seconds, human as he was, when death was just a second away,  between the blaring hot fire and and suffocation from smoke, and jumping out of the building.

Was there some kind of  cowardness on the part of the man?  Or loss of faith maybe to his god? I believe not. Even Jesus, in his last breath, called out to the Father in Heaven. It was his human flesh who did it.

Matthew 27:46

King James Version (KJV)

 46And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

My beloved brother in the Church thought  otherwise, and I admire him. He wrote, ” …. lost his faith and trust to what GOD could do, but instead decided on his own to avoid the pain of dying because of smoke and fire. Euthanasia works in the same way -deciding to end the hopeless subject’s life to avoid more suffering. Alam nyo po na hindi rin tayo palo sa euthanasia. “

Euthanasia works so far different from the attack of the Twin towers or the  9/11.

I retract what  I  wrote about my admiration to the man when he  chose to jump out of the window, but I always believed that only God  can read what is written in our hearts.

Hebrews 4:12

King James Version (KJV)

12For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

I thank you Brother for the correction.

2 Comments

  1. funkymonkey56

    If Judas had been open to forgiveness his shame would not have driven him to suicide. Peter and Paul also committed infractions against Christ and His church but they were open to forgiveness.

    • jocelyn bautista

      do you know that the first sin committed was not that of Adam and Eve, for they came only after the angels were created, but rather the “pride” of the morning star who was satan when he wanted to be at par with God.

Leave a Reply

