The battle I have to keep winning

Just this morning a good friend/brother Iral Elman posted in his FB Wall 2Corinthians 7:10 with the following comment:

“l Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death. See what this godly sorrow has produced in you: what earnestness, what eagerness to clear yourselves, what indignation, what alarm, what longing, what concern, what readiness to see justice done. At every point you have proved yourselves to be innocent in this matter. 2 Corinthians 7:10-11 NIV”

I have posted my own thought on this and here goes:

” Godly sorrow and worldly sorrow always beat each other. This is where we are being measured on how we have fought our battle with in ourselves. I am always a victim of this. I have yet to win my own battle, Brother. I weep always because of this. I suffer, I feel the pain. but most of all I still know that I FEAR the Lord.

That I know, I am still with Him.

Thanks be to God. …”

To walk in the ways of the Lord, is to walk in holiness. For this is what we should be, for it is a commandment of God.

2 Corinthians 7:1 (King James Version)

1Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.

On the last day of my indoctrination, Brother Ato Tobias has to conduct the last doctrine which was baptism. It was in April 1999, and the candidates from the different  Locales of LBMR were gathered in one place which was in Calamba, Laguna. A day earlier, I asked for a vacation from my office to give me time and preparation for this last day of indoctrination.

With that in mind, I was expecting, that all the candidates had more or less the same plans as mine. At 8: 00 pm, we were told that we have to repeat the second to the last doctrine before we go on with the doctrine on baptism because some of the candidates were unable to attend the night before.

Here I was, the proud woman, raised my hand. I told my story, that I had filed my vacation for that day, other than attending the second to the last doctrine in our own Locale, Locale of Pacita, the night before which was supposed to be the case, so we could be on schedule for the night.

Brother Ato, first asked my name and from what Locale I came from. And he told me, that much as he would like to go on with the baptism doctrine immediately, it so happened that there were candidates who needed to attend the last two doctrines.

At that moment, I was very sure I had made a mark on Brother Ato Tobias.

To make the long story short, we finished the whole session like almost 12 am. On the actual baptism day, I wanted to ask forgiveness from Brother Ato about my outburst the night before, but again the proud woman that I was, I kept quiet.

It did not take long, in a year Bro. Ato Tobias  had  to impose  suspension on me for something that I did, not in accordance with the doctrines of the Church. I paid for the price for being so proud even after I have heard the good news. Like Satan, I was dumped to the ground.

This battle, I  need  to win if I don’t want to be dumped again.

Inside the Church, I realized, to follow Christ path, “The Old Path”, is not easy. There are times you have to forgo something you want to do, like to do, even your own happiness, if this is a hindrance to your service to God.

For in doing the righteousness of God, our physical body is instrumental in executing the righteousness.

Romans 12:1 (King James Version)

1I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.

For I will not forget the promise God has made for me in my moments of unrighteousness:

Hebrews 8:12 (King James Version)

12For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.

He has forgiven me in my moments of iniquities. And that I will never forget.

And everyday, I try to win battle after battle of goodness over wickedness. Sometimes, I lose, but more often I won.

And if today I win this battle  again, I have yet to prepare myself for another battle ahead of me.

Until I remain faithful to the end.

And I know this is not easy.

Thanks be to God!

We are The Members Church of God International with Brother Eliseo Soriano as the Presiding Minister and Brother Daniel Razon as the Vice Presiding Minister.

Here are some of our websites:

http://mcgi.org/
http://elisoriano.com/
http://danielrazon.com/
http://untvweb.com/
http://kaanib.net/
http://kamanggagawa.org/
http://esoriano.wordpress.com/
http://livestream.com/elisoriano
http://twitter.com/broelisoriano
http://twitter.com/danielrazon

Leave a Reply

