BFF – Best Friend Forever

Our own mother was normally our best friend when we were young. Yet,  there was  this special person in our lives that we call our “special friend.” She/he  maybe your classmate, school mate, a neighbor or somebody that you met while far away from home. Who ever this friend was, there was  this special bond between you.

As a young teenager, I did not have many friends. I have one  or two.  Back then, sometimes, I assessed myself as somebody who was  not capable of maintaining friendships.  I thought of myself as an awkward person.

There was  this friend of mine in high school that our friendship ended in tragedy. We were walking home from school on a Tuesday afternoon, when in the busy intersection of the road, suddenly  she stopped  to checked  on the  list of the things to buy, that she had in the pocket of her uniform, before going home.

I remember  now, it was a maroon full pleated skirt and a white blouse at the top. Of all the places, we stopped in the corner of the  intersection, she was standing on the street level, to the side of the street, our arms were entwined with each other, but I was  standing on the curb, to the side of the fence of the school.

While she was examining her list, I heard from afar the sound of the mini bus coming from the  east going  to the  west, while another sound,  a tricycle coming from the north to the south. As I was hearing this, I had  the feeling that both transport will met in the intersection.

Unaware, I pulled my arms away from her arms and tried to check  if my estimation was correct. I made two steps away from her at the same time making a 180 degree turn. She was standing with her back facing the intersection, while I was standing  facing the intersection after I made that  180 degree turn.

I was correct, I saw  the tricycle flying towards us after the  mini bus hit it. It was just seconds, when I turned around, my friend was lying on the ground with the blood coming out from her nose, and the tricycle was on top of her.  It was very red. I remembered she said, “Tatay”. She died in the hospital, and in my youthful age, I was dragged to attend the hearings of the case.

Her name was Ofelia.

After that incident, I do not want to make close friendships any more. I was afraid I may caused their death or something.

During my College years, I had   one friend, she started as a seat mate but eventually we became close. We shared each other’s homework. It was a case of she , sharing mine,  but I don’t mind. She was my friend.

And I met my  boy friend.  He was a classmate in College and my first. He was very special to me. It was after the summer class, (we were required to attend two summer classes to complete the course.) Before going home for  a two-week vacation, before the start of the regular school year. I  had to enroll for the coming school year so I will not cram when I come back.

The style of enrollment was first come first served basis. You enroll first, you had the good schedules of classes. And this friend of mine had asked her cousin who worked in the University to please asked from me the schedule of my classes so she can follow suit. She asked her cousin to enroll for her. In the confusion and the excitement, we left the University, my boy friend and I, forgetting to give to  the  cousin of my friend  my schedule for the coming semester.

When I remembered it, it was too late and later, I met  my friend  in the campus that school year and she did not want to talk to me anymore.

I was short of being a friend to her, that was my assessment of myself. I did not know how to nurture my relationship with my friend, another assessment of myself.

After that, I don’t attached myself  to anybody anymore. The less you are involved the lighter your load, that was my feeling. For me, it was good to be alone.

In the bible, there is a very special kind of friendship that will last forever.

John 15:15 (King James Version)

15Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.

Just like the friendships I had in my life before I joined the Church, this friendship needs nurturing too.

It is not correct to say that if we remain in the Faith  as  a servant of God, we  become Jesus’ friend.

We need to regenerate our Faith in Him. We need to elevate  ourselves by the  knowledge and the wisdom that we acquire everyday. We need to internalize, personify all the teachings of the Lord Jesus Christ for us to be called His friend.

We should elevate our sense of spirituality in order for us to be called the Friends of Jesus Christ.

Proverbs 1:23

23Turn you at my reproof: behold, I will pour out my spirit unto you, I will make known my words unto you.

For the spiritual life of the servant, the degree of the  spirituality is increasing, before you can be called the Friend of  Jesus Christ.

Romans 8:13

13For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live.

For it is the spirit that gives life  to the body. We need the spirit in order for us to attain the Friendship of Jesus Christ.

63It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

This Friendship with Jesus Christ is forever. If you take good care of this Friendship, you will not lost it. You will not have doubts about yourself.

And this is what I call BFF – Best Friend Forever.

Thanks be to God for His unspeakable gift.

We are, The Members –  Church of God International with Brother Eliseo Soriano as the Presiding Minister and Brother Daniel Razon as the Vice Presiding Minister.

Here are some of our web sites:

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.mcgi.org/en/

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.truthcaster.com/

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.theoldpath.tv/

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.angdatingdaan.org/

http://www.facebook.com/AngDatingDaanTV?ref=sharehttp:

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.elisoriano.com/

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.whoisbroeli.com

http://www.facebook.com/BroEliseoSoriano

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;twitter.com/BroEliSoriano

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;www.danielrazon.com/

http://www.facebook.com/KuyaDanielRazon

http://www.facebook.com/l/bc568;twitter.com/DanielRazon

Leave a Reply

