Cherry Blossom in bloom around our neighborhood



The theme I used in this site is a cut from this picture. Cherry blossom in Maryland. The first time I have seen this cherry blossom tree was when I was in South Korea in 2004. I was working inside the US Base in Seoul, and they planted this tree around the base. I did not see the actual beauty of this until I came to Maryland in 2006. In the neighborhood where I lived this was planted alongside the road, lined up and this is the property of the Montgomery County. It is the county that maintained the tree and their surroundings.

This picture was taken two years ago. This kind of cherry tree is the last to bloom. Right now it has not shown any buds yet.  This is the side part of the house where we park our cars.

Two years ago blogging pictures was far from my mind. I do blog, but usually more of texts that posting pictures. I realized now the site is more colorful, more enticing to view and read  if the story is supported with pictures and texts.

Today, I took some pictures again, for yesterday was the full bloom period of the cherry blossom  in our neighborhood. You can tell, because the petals are starting to fall to the ground.


The National Cherry Blossom Festival is a spring celebration in Washington, D.C.commemorating the March 27, 1912, gift of Japanese cherry trees from Mayor Yukio Ozaki ofTokyo to the city of Washington. Mayor Ozaki donated the trees in an effort to enhance the growing friendship between the United States and Japan and also celebrate the continued close relationship between the two nations.[1]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Cherry_Blossom_Festival

This image I took from the web. If you look closely it is almost the same as in the side of the house.


Leave a Reply

