Why God used a small plant when he talked to Moses

Ever since I was a small child, I was surrounded with small things. Our house was a one bedroom house,  with a small sala, a small kitchen for a family with eight children.

Our food  were  in small portions. Our shoes were small because my mother has to stretched the months of usage, for she has eight children to buy one after the other.

We have a small sets of clothes. Most of those were hand me downs. So when I went to school I felt I was the smallest of all, not because of my physical being but because I  have nothing compared to my classmates. In those times, the classrooms were ranked as to section 1 to n, 1 being the  students with  most high in grades.

My mother was happy because I was in section 1 from grades  1 to 6. My father was not surprised. He had expected that from me, his eldest daughter second only to his favorite son.

And so, when my career was in bloom, I started to accumulate big stuff. My house was big for a family of four.

My line of clothes were large enough that for  months I don’t have to repeat the same set of clothes.  The same with my bags and shoes. And the same went for my whole family.

At the height of my career, my pride went high  too. My thoughts were, I did all these: I  studied hard, worked hard and these are   my rewards  from God.

But God has a different path for me to take. Gone is my career, and so with my lines  of clothes, bags and shoes.

God introduced me  to small things again. God wanted me to see the glory in being small.

Even Moses saw the greatness of being small. He  declined to be called the son of the Pharaoh’s  daughter.

Hebrews 11:24

24By faith Moses, when he was come to years, refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter;

When  Jesus Christ  stripped himself of  His Godliness, and became man, He set the example of the humblest act of all.

Philippians 2:6

6Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:

And so when God talked to Moses, God used a bush (small plant)to communicate with Moses.

God wanted Moses to act small when Moses delivered God’s message to His people.

Acts 7:30

30And when forty years were expired, there appeared to him in the wilderness of mount Sinai an angel of the Lord in a flame of fire in a bush.

Being small is reachable. Approachable too.

In fact even Satan recognized this. He picked the smallest fruit bearing tree to tempt  for easy access to Eve.

Genesis 3:6

6And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat.

In my lifetime, God uses Brother Eliseo Soriano, Presiding Minister  Member – Church of God International to make me understand the wisdom of being small as exemplified by him and Brother Daniel Razon.

Thanks be to God for his unspeakable gift.

7 Comments

  1. bongdomingo

    great reflection…. in being small, it reminds us too of our nothingness and of our helplessness in the hands of our Creator.
    In our nothingness, we learn to empty ourselves of our own righteousness and, with God’s help, be filled with His Holy Spirit and wisdom.
    Thanks be to God that in our being small we have come to know the Truth…. and that in our nothingness He called us to this one true Church.

    • jocelyn53

      Thanks be to God, Sister. While writing this blog, I can’t stop my tears flowing. It is cleansing to the soul.

  2. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

    • jocelyn53

      thanks be to God Savannah for reading my blog

  3. Inday Elns

    very inspiring blog, day… idol gid kita in writing letters. You are very smart and intelligent friend of mine, day…
    miss you!!!!!

  4. Truthseeker

    When a person is big and great, options are bountiful and abounding.
    When a person is irrelevant and small, only God is the option!

    That was your story…which was my story too!

    Thanks be to God for His unspeakable accommodations!

    • jocelyn53

      To show His power as the Son of God in moments where His body was “mutilated” by the Romans, could be the best option for Jesus Christ. He did not, Instead, he lived like a poor man and died the same.

      As the Son of God, is more than bountiful and abounding, yet Christ remained an ordinary mortal being.

      He is showing us, the way to salvation. It is our choice.

      Thanks be to God for passing by.

Leave a Reply

